How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

OSS specific Linux discussion (x86/amd64)

Moderators: hannu, dev, cesium

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:30 pm

I did not find the link. Do you mean deadbeef plugin? I meant the resampler not as the .so plugin for deadbeef but fftrate which could be used system-wide.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:36 pm

Is it possible to use Petrov's resampler system-wide?

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:52 pm

ossuserr wrote:I did not find the link. Do you mean deadbeef plugin? I meant the resampler not as the .so plugin for deadbeef but fftrate which could be used system-wide.


There is a stand-alone Petrov's resampler which works on Linux. It does not depend on sound system.

ossuserr wrote:Is it possible to use Petrov's resampler system-wide?


Sergey Petrov has not made any "system-wide" plugins for OSS4.
There are native OSS4 resamplers (e.g. "production quality"), which can be used with OSS4 as ""system-wide".

There is Petrov's plugin for ALSA, which is a sort of "system-wide".
He also created some other tools for ALSA.
Your may find Sergey Petrov on the Russian Ubuntu forum and contact him through "private mail"

PetrovSE → _http://forum.ubuntu.ru/index.php?action=profile;u=12963

Google Translate → _https://translate.google.com/?q=

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:12 pm

Can't you upload those plugins to here? By the way I have now kind of metallic sound with alsa while playing in deadbeef. Is it distortion caused by libsamplerate ? When i used kx driver + foobar2000 + kernel streaming + some good plugin resampler there was no this metallic shade on windows OS.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:19 pm

I emailed comrade Petrov but got no response from him.

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:38 pm

ossuserr wrote:I emailed comrade Petrov but got no response from him.


Try to contact him through the Russian Ubuntu forum.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:42 pm

I could not register there ... If you create an account for me there I will contact him. PM me login and password.

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:20 pm

ossuserr wrote:Can't you upload those plugins to here? By the way I have now kind of metallic sound with alsa while playing in deadbeef. Is it distortion caused by libsamplerate ? When i used kx driver + foobar2000 + kernel streaming + some good plugin resampler there was no this metallic shade on windows OS.


Sergey Petrov has already uploaded his magic tools for ALSA here: _https://yadi.sk/d/FXbgCo7hdu5QN

Выложил: _https://yadi.sk/d/FXbgCo7hdu5QN
Там две сборки (для x86 и x86_64) и два пакета:
собственно плагин и конфигуратор для генерации asound.conf.


fftrate.zip contains deb-packages for x86 and x86_64.
If you want to install them on Gentoo, you may simply unpack debs with ar and install the things with "cp"

Debian packages are standard Unix ar archives
_https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deb_(file_format)

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:24 pm

Can't express in words my gratitude to you, Igor, and Petrov!!! Glory to Russia and to comrade Petrov! Damn those alsa satanist liers with their shannon-nyquest nobel stealer theory. American rascals! They will pay for spoiling our hearing, bustards! So it seems hardware producing companies are not so bad as we think. But people of those satanists are sitting in the headquaters of EVERY AMERICAN-CONTROLLED OPERATING SYSTEM and spoiling sound with their software solutions, HARMERS! Now it's not a wonder that they introduced the so called equal tempered tuning 4 centruies ago. Evidently it was part of a plan to make us deaf and dumb.

As for gento installation, if i just put the unpacked filed to the correct folders will they magically start to work or do i need to reboot and edit some additional text files? Also i am now a kind of on the cross of the two roads: one is to use debian + oss4 but with 16\48 only since p16v is not supported, second is to use gento with alsa with Petrov's solution for alsa and with 96\24, 192\24. Which way is better? Will alsa+Pertov's pack for alsa will sound as good as Oss4 with 16\48.

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Sun Jan 11, 2015 8:01 pm

ossuserr wrote:As for gento installation, if i just put the unpacked filed to the correct folders will they magically start to work or do i need to reboot and edit some additional text files?


As I remember (I tested the things many years ago), no reboot was required.

Just copy the files to the correct folders.
Then run the config tool from terminal (it is self-explanatory).
It will produce asound.conf

Then you run a player of your choice.

It might be useful to run players from terminal to see the output from Petrov's tools.
It may help to detect ALSA problems.

I cannot help you more, because I am not using ALSA.

EXAMPLES from old experiments:

Code: Select all

$ aplay Tabla*.wav
Playing WAVE 'Tabla-Tabla_Tarang.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo

Converter: fftrate (build: Sep  5 2010, 18:37:54)
Input:  44100 Hz, 2 ch, 's16_le' (0x2): dummy = 0, period = 1764
Output: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, 's32_le' (0xa): dummy = 0, period = 1920
Rates:  44100 --> 48000 (jitter = 0.00%)
Ok.

"jitter" should be equal to zero. Otherwise, you may get sound distortions.

Underruns with ALSA (they vanished after reboot):

Code: Select all

$ aplay ./Tabla-Tabla_Tarang.wav
Playing WAVE './Tabla-Tabla_Tarang.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo

Converter: fftrate (build: Sep  5 2010, 18:37:54)
Input:  44100 Hz, 2 ch, 's16_le' (0x2): dummy = 0, period = 1764
Output: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, 's24_3le' (0x20): dummy = 0, period = 1920
Rates:  44100 --> 48000 (jitter = 0.00%)
Ok.

underrun!!! (at least 326326551.839 ms long)

_http://www.opensound.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3981#p15880

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:48 pm

Thank you, Igor. I unared alsa-config-utils_1.6.2_amd64.deb and got 3 files: debian-binary , control.tar.gz , data.tar.gz. I untared control.tar.gz , data.tar.gz and got usr/ folder with many subfodlers and two files md5sums and control. So my question is where should i put the files md5sums, control and debian-binary on gento? As far as i understand files from usr/ folder will go to the /usr/ folder of the operating system. Then i extracted libasound2-plugin-fftrate_1.6.2_amd64.deb and again i got the second file "debian-binary" and control.tar.gz and data.tar.gz! I extracted control.tar.gz to md5sums , postinst , postrm , control files and data.tar.gz to etc/ and usr/ folders. My second question is where should i put debian-binary #2, md5sums postrm , postinst , postrm , control file extracted from libasound2-plugin-fftrate_1.6.2_amd64.deb ?

The config tool that you meant to run i suppose is usr/bin/arateconf exctacted from alsa-config-utils_1.6.2_amd64.deb ?

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:59 pm

ossuserr wrote:The config tool that you meant to run i suppose is usr/bin/arateconf exctacted from alsa-config-utils_1.6.2_amd64.deb ?


Yes.

/usr/bin/arateconf is the config tool to generate asound.conf

/usr/bin/amixrestore seems to be a new tool

Just copy things from /usr and /etc

Other Debian staff (e.g. "DEBIAN") is to be thrown away. It is a sort of "Debian packaging info". You do not need it.

See the EXAMPLES in the previous post.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:52 pm

Igor, can you ask comrade Petrov to make fftrate also system-wide for OSS driver to substitute OSS's native resampler by fftrate?

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby igorzwx » Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:13 pm

ossuserr wrote:Igor, can you ask comrade Petrov to make fftrate also system-wide for OSS driver to substitute OSS's native resampler by fftrate?


We had discussed such ideas many years ago.
He was not enthusiastic.
There are technical problems. ALSA is a kind of "modular system", you can make plugins for it.
OSS4 is another sort of things.

In any case, to prevent sound distortions, you have to disable VMIX together with all "system-wide resamplers". VMIX is a kind of PulseAudio. It can produce very strong sound distortions, especially with "surround sound".

Plugin for DeadBeef seems to be a practical solution. The only problem is that DCT is enabled by default, and you cannot switch to FFT in "preferences". This might be easier to fix.
I hope that he may fix it when he has time.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: How to enable "production quality with extra precision"?

Postby ossuserr » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:24 pm

And where is Hannu the author of OSS? He does not write anything here. Can't he change the resampler to fftrate?
Also we can keep 2 copies of fftrate. One will be used system-wide with vmix, the other will be used like now via exact-audio-player.
Also why system-wide is necessary is because it will be used during production with jackd.


Return to “Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest