Page 1 of 1

[bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:35 pm
by krz
Why OSS is swapping stereo channels? Sometimes it works ok, then it changes.

I'm trying to find out what it causes.

Re: [bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:46 pm
by igorzwx
krz wrote:Why OSS is swapping stereo channels? Sometimes it works ok, then it changes.

I'm trying to find out what it causes.


Do you have a clear-cut empirical test which can be reproduced on other computers?

Re: [bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:29 pm
by krz
Problem seems solved.

It's my headphones cable fault. I didn't knew, there are two diffrent standards of channels alignment. Using loudspeakers, or bulid in laptop speakers everything is ok. :)
but.. Why i worked right before?

I think, OSS needs stereo channels reverse feature.

Re: [bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:25 pm
by igorzwx
krz wrote:I think, OSS needs stereo channels reverse feature.


Have you tried PulseAudio?
It may, however, reduce sound quality. What is more, PulseAudio is said to be "a very hungry application". It may consume 80% of CPU or more.

Re: [bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 10:43 pm
by krz
No need to use pulseaudio. I already fixed it swapping the wires. :)

Re: [bug?] Swap stereo channels

Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:07 pm
by cesium
OSS can swap stereo channels by itself (in its latest version) as long as you are using vmix (which is enabled in default configuration): 'sudo vmixctl remap /dev/dsp 2 1'.