Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

OSS specific Linux discussion (x86/amd64)

Moderators: hannu, dev, cesium

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby igorzwx » Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:48 pm

In 2009, the OSS4 developers decided to make OSS4 compatible with PulseAudio in the hope to get some money from the sponsors of the PulseAudio project (the main sponsor of PulseAudio, was, perhaps, Microsoft).

They got problems with "kernel crashes", or else. The problem was, perhaps, a sort of "VMIX + PulseAudio".
Since VMIX is itself a notorious crap, it was not easy to find out the cause of troubles.
In an effort to fix such problems, they disabled the Production quality resampler in OSS4.
In any case, "Production quality" would not make any difference with PulseAudio.

OSS4 Wiki: Pulseaudio
_http://www.4front-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Configuring_Applications_for_OSSv4#Pulseaudio

Now we have only crappy resamplers available in OSS4, and the most crappy one can be secretly enabled by COOKEDMODE.

As a result, the default installation of OSS4 sounds like ALSA.
If you do not want to use such crap, you have to hack OSS4, and install third party tools (e.g. Petrov's plugin).

It is not surprising, therefore, that not many Linux users are using OSS4.
The old, blind, and stupid may fail to hack OSS4.
The deaf ones might be perfectly happy with ALSA and PulseAudio.

The simplest solution might be to remove all crappy resamplers from OSS4.
There should be only one resampler, the best one.
The OSS4 users do not need to be confused by a variety crappy resamplers.

Since Production quality works well even on very old computers (e.g. of 2001),
it does not make any sense to have crappy resamplers installed.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby ossuserr » Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:40 pm

"The old, blind, and stupid may fail to hack OSS4."
Haha, nice ... I hope it was not addressed to me though. Because by the uknown reason you failed to descern 3s and 6s in the ebuild code...

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby ossuserr » Fri Jan 08, 2016 7:49 pm

That's interesting info about microsoft and attempts to cooperate with it...
By the way another interesting info i have learnt is that some linux codex forbids implementing in-kernel mixing. That's what older versions of oss did when oss was part of the kernel image and when it was much faster.
Isn't that linux codex strange?

igorzwx
Known Member
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:31 pm

Re: Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby igorzwx » Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:38 pm

ossuserr wrote:By the way another interesting info i have learnt is that some linux codex forbids implementing in-kernel mixing. That's what older versions of oss did when oss was part of the kernel image and when it was much faster.


That "older versions of oss" (that is, OSSv3) cannot perform any sort of "in-kernel mixing", because it has not VMIX.
VMIX was implemented in OSS4 (OSSv4).
OSSv3 was already replaced with ALSA, and the Linux kernel developers refused to deal with OSS4.

If you do not want to do something, it is not difficult to create a "codex" or "law", which forbids doing that.
If, for example, you do not want to use Windows or Mac, you may say that your codex (or your religion) does not permit them.

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby ossuserr » Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:56 pm

Can you substantiate why you think that PA can have connections to microsoft?

ossuserr
Known Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:01 am
Sound Card: audigy 2 zs platinum, esi juli
OS: gentu riced to bo0st
Location: Earth

Re: Why Production quality was disabled in OSS4

Postby ossuserr » Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:21 pm

Can you substantiate why you think that PA can have connections to microsoft?


Return to “Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests