Page 1 of 1

output on "front" instead of "side" with

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:23 pm
by twisti
With osstest I can hear the test sound on /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm2 on

Code: Select all

$ ossinfo
Version info: OSS 4.0 (b1015/200803241124) (0x00040003)
Platform: SunOS/i86pc 5.11 snv_86 (workstation)

Number of audio devices:   7
Number of audio engines:   15
Number of mixer devices:   1


Device objects
 0: sadasupport0 SADA compatibility layer interrupts=248 (248)
    HD Audio controller Intel HD Audio
    Vendor ID    0x808627d8
    Subvendor ID 0x83847680
     Codec  0: STAC9221 A1 (0x83847680/0x106b0800)
 1: osscore0 OSS common devices
 2: hdaudio0 Intel HD Audio interrupts=4103857 (4103857)
    HD Audio controller Intel HD Audio
    Vendor ID    0x808627d8
    Subvendor ID 0x83847680
     Codec  0: STAC9221 A1 (0x83847680/0x106b0800)
 3: ossusb0 USB audio/MIDI device
 4: vmix0 OSS transparent virtual mixer


Mixer devices
 0: High Definition Audio STAC9221 A (Mixer 0 of device object 2)

Audio devices
HD Audio front                    /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm0  (device index 0)
HD Audio center/LFE               /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm1  (device index 1)
HD Audio side                     /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm2  (device index 2)
HD Audio spdif-out                /dev/oss/hdaudio0/spdout0  (device index 3)
High Definition Audio rec1        /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin0  (device index 4)
High Definition Audio rec2        /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcmin1  (device index 5)
High Definition Audio spdif-in    /dev/oss/hdaudio0/spdin0  (device index 6)


Is it possible to get the output on "front" instead of "side" (line-in)? The problem is that programs using SADA do not produce any output (I guess it's routed to pcm0).

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:26 pm
by cesium
Which device is linked to /dev/dsp? HD Audio is often split up, and pcm2 happens to be the one who points to the side..

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:00 pm
by twisti
/dev/dsp is linked to /dev/oss/hdaudio0/pcm0.

Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 11:54 pm
by dev
What is the make and model of your machine?


regards
Dev

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:45 am
by twisti
It's an Apple Mac mini Intel Core 2 Duo with:

Code: Select all

Intel(r) Core(tm)2 CPU         T7200  @ 2.00GHz

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:48 pm
by twisti
Any chance to get this working?

Probably I don't understand the problem right, but why is the output actually on "side" and not on "front"? This worked in Linux with ALSA without any problems.